Why ME™ is a Specialty Coffee.

Mayan Espresso™ continually earns the highest scores by the Specialty Coffee Association, due to its special qualities in fragrance/aroma, flavour, aftertaste, low-acidity, body, and balance, hence Mayan Espresso™ is considered an Specialty Coffee.

The Specialty Coffee Association (SCA) is a non-profit organization that represents the global coffee community. It was founded in 1982 and is headquartered in the United States, with members from over 100 countries around the world. The SCA’s mission is to foster a sustainable coffee culture by promoting excellence, education, and innovation in specialty coffee.

One of the ways the SCA promotes excellence in specialty coffee is through its coffee quality certification program. This program includes a rigorous coffee scoring process called the Coffee Quality Institute (CQI) Q Grading System. The Q Grading System is used to evaluate coffee samples based on a standardized set of criteria, including fragrance/aroma, flavor, aftertaste, acidity, body, balance, uniformity, and overall quality.The Specialty Coffee Association (SCA) has several scoring systems that are used to evaluate different aspects of coffee quality. Here are some of the key scoring systems used by the SCA:

  1. SCA Cupping Form: The SCA Cupping Form is used to evaluate coffee samples based on their fragrance/aroma, flavor, aftertaste, acidity, body, and balance. Each attribute is rated on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the highest score. The overall score for the coffee sample is the sum of the scores for each attribute, with a maximum score of 100.
  2. SCA Sensory Lexicon: The SCA Sensory Lexicon is a standardized vocabulary for describing coffee flavors and aromas. It includes over 100 descriptors, each of which is associated with a specific aroma or flavor. The lexicon is used by coffee professionals to describe the sensory characteristics of coffee samples.
  3. SCA Coffee Taster’s Flavor Wheel: The SCA Coffee Taster’s Flavor Wheel is a tool used to identify and describe the flavors and aromas in coffee samples. The wheel is divided into three main categories (sweet, sour, and savory) and includes more specific flavor and aroma descriptors within each category.
  4. SCA Coffee Quality Score: The SCA Coffee Quality Score is used to assess the overall quality of a coffee sample. The score is based on a combination of the coffee’s cupping score (as evaluated on the SCA Cupping Form) and its physical characteristics, such as bean size, defects, and moisture content. The Coffee Quality Score ranges from 0 to 100, with a score of 80 or above indicating that the coffee is considered “specialty grade.”

Overall, these scoring systems are designed to provide a standardized approach to evaluating coffee quality and to help coffee professionals communicate about the sensory characteristics of different coffee samples.


Specialty Coffee Association website: https://sca.coffee/

  1. Coffee Quality Institute website: https://www.coffeeinstitute.org/
  2. Specialty Coffee Association’s Coffee Taster’s Flavor Wheel: https://sca.coffee/research/coffee-tasters-flavor-wheel
  3. Coffee Quality Institute Q Grader Program: https://www.coffeeinstitute.org/q-grader-program/
  4. Coffee Quality Institute Q Grading System: https://www.coffeeinstitute.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/CQI_QG3.1-English.pdf
Share the Post:

Related Posts

Our Coffee

The Discovery of Coffee

Coffee is a popular drink that is enjoyed by millions of people around the world. It has a rich history

Read More
Coffee Production

Pure Pleasure, Not Bitter!

Guatemalan coffee is generally known for having a low to medium level of acidity, which is one of the reasons

Read More
Our Coffee

More Volcanic Facts

Mayan Espresso™ grows on Volcanic soil, also known as volcanic ash soil or Andisol, which is soil that has been

Read More